

THE LIONS DIN

Oxnard Noontimers Lions Club

Published Weakly

Meets every Friday at Residence Inn by Marriott in Oxnard P.O. Box 8155 Oxnard, CA 93031 March 1, 2013 Issue 55:30

| District Governor |
|----------------------------|
| Tony Manuel |
| 1468 Ivory Dr |
| Los Osos, CA 93402 |
| Santa Maria, CA 93455-4091 |
| tonymanuel@verizon.net |

| President | | |
|----------------------------|--|--|
| Roman Vaisman | | |
| 505 Poli Street, Suite 301 | | |
| Ventura, CA 93003 | | |
| (805) 229-1353 | | |
| roman.vaisman@ezlogy.com | | |

| Secretary | | |
|--------------------------|--|--|
| Jeff Norris | | |
| 3600 Harbor Blvd. #484 | | |
| Oxnard, CA 93035 | | |
| (805) 815-3460 | | |
| secretary@noontimers.org | | |
| | | |

| Treasurer |
|---|
| Tim Tenopir |
| 5115 Longfellow Way |
| Oxnard, CA 93033 |
| (805) 488-5395 & 760-2771 |
| treasurer@noontimers.org |

| 1st Vice President | Timur Talu |
|--------------------------|------------|
| 2nd Vice President | Jim Plisky |
| Event Coordinator | John Farra |
| Lion Tamer | Dick Magg |
| Tail Twister | Will Berg |
| Chaplain | Andy Stay |
| | |

| Membership Chair | Will Berg/Pat Orozco | |
|--------------------|----------------------|--|
| 1st Year Directors | Toby Scott | |
| | John Farrar | |
| 2nd Year Directors | George Thompson | |
| | | |

Pat Riggs

Immediate Past President
Ross Olney
Bulletin Editor
Toby Scott
2175 Goodyear Ave.
Unit 117
Ventura, CA 93003
(805) 289-3960
toby@lions4a3.org

This week

There is no program listed on the club's Google calendar, nor has your BE received any notice of a speaker. If you are a speaker, please be aware that Noontimers are a special breed and advance-planning was bred out of them. We will, however, treat you marginally better than we treat each other, which translates into us only being moderately rude. Sorry about that.

Next week

Nothing scheduled yet. Poor 1VP Timur TALUT still has his head stuck inside his software coding book making changes as rapidly as the IRS implements the new tax laws.

Last Week

It was the Student Speakers Contest, won by Andrew Khodanian. What is noteworthy about this is that Leo Albea, who won our club contest last year and then won both the Zone and Region contests, lost



by a narrow margin to Andrew. Andrew should do well in the coming contests. Thanks also to the judges: Gig Wishon, Brian Elster and Chris Zsarnay.

Winners

We didn't sell any raffle tickets last week because of the Student Speaker Contest. Nor did we fine anyone, Greet anyone, hold Attendance Drawing, etc., so, the winners from the previous week are held over:

Lion IPP Ross OLNEY has Free Fines yet again (he's

threatening to hand out more books) while new Noontimer Lion Bill GREEN is our Greeter. Lion Bobby MULLINS wasn't here two weeks ago although he did make it last week, so he loses his shot at the Attendance Prize of \$25. Today we draw for \$30.

Cabinet Meeting

We have a new world record. Four Noontimers actually attended a District Cabinet Meeting: Lions P Roman VAISMAN, S Jeff NORRIS, T Tim TENOPIR and BE Toby SCOTT. However, in typical Noontimer fashion, Lion Roman ducked out after an hour or so and wasn't here to sign the official attendance sheet and so didn't officially make the meeting.

One of the really excellent presentations was on why and how a club might want to have a 501 (c) 3 corporation. Lions Clubs are 501 (c) 4 corporations,

which means they are service organizations, but miss out on one feature: donations to them are NOT tax deductible (unless Lion 2VP Jim PLISKY is your accountant). The Lions District is putting together the tools to fairly quickly and inexpensively (about \$700) create a 501 (c) 3. The Bored took this up at the meeting Wednesday.

Election Time

This is the third publication of the candidates for office for next Lion Year (July 1, 2013—June 30,

2014). Next week we will hold the election, as required in our Constitution.

President Roman Vaisman

George Thompson.

First VP Timur Taluy
Second VP Patrick Orozco
Secretary Jeff Norris
Treasurer Tim Tenopir
Event Coordinator John Farrar
Lion Tamer Dick Maggio
Tail Twister Jim Plisky
Chaplain Andy Stay

1st Year Directors





Ross Olney Sig Askvik Bedford Pinkard Todd Rehanek Dave Tapie Pat Riggs

Notes on Directors: It is intended that the loser of the President election will become a Director. We have no hold-over Directors who would be 2nd Year Directors as both of them have other titles this year. So all Directors will become 1st Year Directors.



calendar

| March 6 | Zone 7 Student Speaker Contest: Food Share, 4156 Southbank Road, 6:30 PM |
|----------|--|
| March 8 | Noontimer Election at the meeting: Noon |
| March 12 | Lion D George THOMPSON's birthday |
| March 21 | Lion TT Will BERG's birthday |

May 3-5_____ District Convention: Santa Maria